Independent Testing: 3.5L Intakes (E-Bay, K&N, Big Bully, Air Hammer HO)

CustomMagnums.com is the premier Dodge Magnum Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

I am a computer.

Array

Independent Testing: 3.5L Intakes (E-Bay, K&N, Big Bully, Air Hammer HO)

Introduction:

I am no expert nor do I claim to be but after seeing the popularity of threads regarding which intake is “best” I decided to put forth the time and effort to try evaluate a select few at a comparable level.

There are many intakes on the market ranging in price from $20 all the way to $450, but the ones I have chosen to evaluate (and their retail price) are:

-E-Bay “Ram Air” - $45
    -Big Bully - $175
    -K&N - $265
    -Air Hammer HO (no longer in production) - $350 unfinished/ $435 custom powder coated

I have selected these intakes based on popularity and to get data for a good spread of price points. I really wish I could have tested more but funds did not permit.

For my comparison I plan on evaluating the intakes in the following categories:

-Appearance/ Build Quality
    -Installation
    -Sound
    -Performance

The goal here is to provide you with the information necessary to make your own judgement on which is “best” however I will also be stating my own opinions and thoughts as we go along.

Note: The E-Bay and Big Bully intake used for my evaluation are brand new and the Air Hammer and K&N have been heavily used.

Edit: A clarification on the state of intake filters, the K&N has been "heavily used" but was cleaned and oiled with the K&N kit a few days prior to the test. The Air Hammer HO is on it's third owner but I put a new filter on it about 6 months ago.
    Last edited by Chutsk10; 03-19-2012 at 12:16 PM. Reason: Title Change

2. Remove Advertisements
    CustomMagnums.com
    Advertisements

I am a computer.

Array

Appearance/ Build Quality

Appearance/ Build Quality

E-Bay