Custom Dodge Magnum Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

First post here. I'm looking for a new family hauler as I've recently had twins (6mo old) and I've thought the Magnum is kind of cool. Not much of a fan of SUVs or minivans and Subaru's are boring, a little small, and as a part time mechanic I've changed a lot of head gaskets on those things. Anyways, just started looking at the Magnum.

I noticed that the listed MPG for the 5.7 hemi is pretty much the same as the v6s so why not have the extra grunt? I know that figure is entirely dependent on the right foot of course.

I have seen some 05 5.7s with blown motors and after doing some looking, it seems like there are quite a few 5.7 failures around that year in the Magnum, the 300, and the Durango and most have about 100k or so on the clock. Sounds like dropped valve seats and or thrown connecting rods are the culprit.

My question is, what year v8 engines out of what vehicles will swap into the v8 magnum with minimum headache, and are any engines more reliable? I would be okay with slightly more or less power and swapping intakes or something but I would like all the electronics to match up and have it run properly. I just want to find a decent running engine or if it's out of the vehicle I might pull the valve covers and oil pan to check it out, but I don't want to deal with a rebuild and I don't want to pay for a rebuilt engine.

Also, I don't really need a v8 as I already have a fun car (hopped up 65 mustang) are the v6 engines any more reliable?

Thanks guys!

·
Magnums Rule....
1,501 Posts