Custom Dodge Magnum Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I've got a 2006 magnum se with 175000 miles. Its a nice car except the engine (go figure). So... I'm going to attempt to swap it with a 3.5. I'd love to have advice and hints about this but please no "you'd be better off trading" due to the fact that the car has low oil pressure once warmed up and would have little trade in value. I've got some mechanical experience and electrical know how. I've got a used low mileage 3.5 on its way.

Thanks for any advice or tips.

Silvermopar

·
MR 3 FIFTEEN
12,413 Posts
I owned a 2.7 before I got my 3.5 and it's a noticeable difference. I could feel it the first time I passed someone.

·
Registered
245 Posts
You should weigh the 2.7- 3.5 to a 5.7 costs. Mines got 117k on it and I thought that once it reached 200k I'd consider putting a 5.7 in it. Always wanted a HEMI just couldn't find one reasonably priced in 08' when I bought my 07'. Just a thought.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I did consider the Hemi, but the cost and work were far too high for me. I'm expecting this to not cost much over 2K.

·
MR 3 FIFTEEN
12,413 Posts
A 3.5 swap would definitely be much cheaper. With a 5.7 swap, you have to change a lot more than just the engine. If you're not a performance guy, the 3.5 should suit your needs just fine... and you can upgrade too. The 2.7 is painfully slow with few add-ons available.

·
Premium Member
18,840 Posts
Just make sure that the 3.5 you have will fit your 4 speed transmission. Some 3.5s use the 5 speed and will not fit a 4 speed.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·