Custom Dodge Magnum Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need a little help figuring out how to add some power to my 05 magnum rt on a budget. Where be the best place to start? I'm figuring I'll have 2k-3k to put into it to start. I'm not planning on doing to many mods myself although I am mechanically inclined I have a fear I messing up my own car lol so keep in mind Id probably be taking this into a shop. Any helps appreciated guys thanks!

·
Registered
4 Posts
I'm no expert but from what I've read a tuner, CAI and cam swap along with some head work is where I plan on starting.
The stock heads on our years ( i have a 2005 R/T) have a nasty habit of dropping valve seats, so they need to be replaced
to prevent a possible blown motor so might as well do any internals (cam upgrade) while you're at it.

I've read many posts where members say the biggest upgrade; power boost, came from a good cam upgrade. Of course
a S/C or turbo would be better but it involves ALOT more money! LOL.

Tranzformer will be next along with some exhaust work. I figure just the cam swap, head work and related parts will eat up most
of the 2-3,000 I plan on spending, I will be getting a set of used heads to rebuild so my car isn't off the road.

Hopefully the more experienced members will comment, BTW if you search the forum you will find many posts on this as well.
HTH and Good luck with build.
Chris

·
Registered
628 Posts
For an increase in Power, within your budget of $3K... Your starting point would be;
Aftermarket Intake, Headers, Aftermarket Exhaust, Diablosport InTune.
Of course, you'll need more money if you want more power (as indicated above).

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4